The NAG Award for Excellence

NAG logo             Nielsen logo

Entries are sought for the National Acquisitions Group Award for Excellence, sponsored by Nielsen Book      

NAG makes an annual award designed to promote excellence, original thinking and innovation by a library or individual within the field of Acquisitions.

Entries are now open and nominations of up to a strict maximum of 250 words can be sent by e-mail to the NAG Office  ( The nomination should provide the name(s) of those involved, the organisation they work for, explain the change and innovation and the benefits these gave to the library and its users. Please note that the nominee(s) need to be members of NAG, individually or through their organisation.

The closing date is Friday 3rd July 2015, and the winner will be chosen by the NAG Executive Committee and will be presented at the 2015 NAG Conference in York. The winning team will also be able to write a feature for both Taking Stock and the NAG website and will be asked to present a follow up paper at the conference in 2016.

The NAG excellence award is in its fifth year and is awarded at NAG annual conference. The award is sponsored by Nielsen Book, the leading provider of discovery, commerce and research services for library and library suppliers.

To give a flavour of the previous winners – last year the NAG award was won by the Guildhall Library  Incunabula Project working with the Consortium of European Research Libraries (CERL). The Guildhall Library holds 73 incunables (pre-1501 printed books) which have been hidden, uncatalogued, treasures. Working with CERL, the aims of the incunabula project were to capture the wealth of provenance information found within these books to enhance catalogue records whilst adding the data to CERL’s MEI database (Material Evidence in Incunabula), enabling worldwide access to provenance information for researchers.

The executive committee look forward to reading about the innovative and interesting work that has been happening across the library sector in 2014-15.

Angela Turner, Chair

NAG Executive Committee.

12-14 King Street, Wakefield, WF1 2SQ

Tel/Fax: 01924 383010   Email: